Blog Tour for Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

Tour Banner - Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch.png

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch. This tour is being hosted by Pure Textuality. I will be sharing my review of Dare You to Lie.

Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch
Series Hometown Antihero Book One
Genre Young Adult Mystery / Suspense
Publisher Tor Teen
Publication Date September 4, 2018
Amazon  https://amzn.to/2GZbmC1 
Barnes & Noble  http://bit.ly/2zCMPjA 
Kobo http://bit.ly/2uJ55SX 
iBooks https://apple.co/2LhS24S
Indiebound  http://bit.ly/2NhJR68

 

dare you to lieSYNOPSIS:

The first installment in the Hometown Antihero series by Amber Lynn Natusch.

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her.

All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. As the threats gain momentum, Ky finds an unlikely ally in the annoyingly attractive rookie FBI agent sent to keep an eye on her.

Determined to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. They thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

DARE YOU TO LIE, a young adult mystery read perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Pretty Little Liars, or Riverdale.

Teaser 1 - Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch.png

My Review:

Those that know the type of books I like to read will know that mystery/suspense books are not the type of books I usually read. Dare You to Lie is one that years ago, I honestly would have passed right by at a bookstore. I’m so glad I gave this book a shot because I’m completely obsessed with it and need more now!

I will give a trigger or content warning to physical abuse and sexual assault in this story.

Dare You to Lie starts off with Kylene’s father being convicted of murder and her mother leaving so she has to move in with her grandpa. They had moved away a couple years prior after pictures of Kylene were taken while she was naked and were leaked online. The suspects were all high school football players, who were protected instead of her.

Kylene easily falls back into her friendship with Garrett and makes a new friend with Tabby. Those three characters together are so amazing. The banter and conversations between them were some of my favorites.

Throughout the story, Kylene is trying to prove who took those pictures of her while also trying to prove her dad is innocent. She’s intelligent, but also doesn’t know when to stay quiet. This ends up causing a target to be placed on her.

This is one of those stories where it’s best to go into it without much background knowledge, so I won’t say more about the premise behind the story than that.

The pacing of Dare You to Lie is awesome. I read it slower than most books just because it’s not a genre I typically read and I wanted to make sure I was really getting all the information that I was being given. I never wanted to quit reading it though, which is something I always want in a story.

The cast of characters in Dare You to Lie were amazing. There are many that are so easy to like, while also having those ones you immediately don’t like and ones you question if you should trust them or not. Besides Kylene, Garrett, and Tabby, I really enjoyed the parts of the story with Gramps and Meg. While reading the story, Agent Dawson eventually grew on me.

Dare You to Lie got a 4.5/5 stars from me. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more. I’m very excited that this is the start of a series because I knew halfway through that I would need more in this world.

Author Pic - Amber Lynn NatuschABOUT AMBER LYNN NATUSCH

AMBER LYNN NATUSCH is the author of the bestselling Caged series for adults. She was born and raised in Winnipeg, and is still deeply attached to her Canadian roots. She loves to dance and practice Muay Thai―but spends most of her time running a chiropractic practice with her husband, raising two young children, and attempting to write when she can lock herself in the bathroom for ten minutes of peace. Dare You to Lie is her debut YA novel with Tor Teen.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s